Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me

tranny rebuilds
(1 viewing) (1) Guest

TOPIC: tranny rebuilds

tranny rebuilds 11 years, 7 months ago #13866

• tcomeau
Hey guys,
Our trannies usually die due to ring and pinion failure. We just replace the whole tranny with one that works and get back to racing. I have at least a dozen trannies in the shop inventory that have a broken R & P. I've been trying to find someone who can CNC new parts cheaper. No luck. Porsche has the R & P sets, but they cost $947 to the average guy on the street.
So............Is there any interest in a group purchase to get the cost down? Anyone else sitting on trannies? Shops?
Thanks
Tim Comeau
SoCal 944 Spec #22 since Feb 2003.
Let's keep building it!

Re: tranny rebuilds 11 years, 7 months ago #13867

• 1M Fan
  • Junior Racer
I'm new to the Porsche tranny's but I know the VWs have issues with ring gear being rivited. They have bolt kits to solve the problem. Is that the issue with Porsche?

Re: tranny rebuilds 11 years, 7 months ago #13875

I'd have some interest, but with used trannys running $150 these days, it would have to be a pretty big discount.
Eric Kuhns

National Director Emeritus

2007, & 2008 National Champion
2011, 2012 2nd

Re: tranny rebuilds 11 years, 7 months ago #13876

• AgRacer
  • Administrator
I think the ring and pinion on my trans is about to go. About how long between the time it starts to whine and when it finally fails?

I was also looking for a replacement and was leaning towards the used cheapo vs an expensive rebuild. I just wish there was a way to make this more reliable because it seems like the ring and pinion are very prone to failure. Is there anything that can at least delay further damaging wear?
J. Stanley
NASA-SE Region 944 Spec Series Director
Yellow #60

Re: tranny rebuilds 11 years, 7 months ago #13883

• ChuckS
  • Seasoned Racer
Agracer, if the noises started recently, some new carrier bearings will likely save your trans!