Social Media

Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me

Should I Flip my Tires?
(1 viewing) (1) Guest
  • Page:

TOPIC: Should I Flip my Tires?

Should I Flip my Tires? 13 years, 9 months ago #7907

I'm wondering if my RA-1s are at a point where I should flip them on their wheels to prolong their life.

Okay, I'm new to racing and these were the wheels that came with the car, so I'm not sure where exactly they are in their lifespan.

There is more wear on the outside of the tires than the inside. It seems to primarily just be on the outside block. The tire is worn to just a bit above the indicator arrow on the outside of the tire. The inside seems to have about 3/16" above the arrow. I can see all four lines on the tire, no other tread.

Would I benefit their life by flipping them? Are they so worn down that it's too late? Is this pretty normal, or am I over-driving my car?

I'm planning to hit an auto-x this weekend. Would like to try the race out, but am I likely to just shred my tires so badly, that I should just use my Miata instead?

The tread:

The worse side:

The better side:
Last Edit: 13 years, 9 months ago by Salanis42.

Re:Should I Flip my Tires? 13 years, 9 months ago #7912

• rd7839
  • Endurance Racer
Hey Cameron,

I understand that the RA1's shaved or worn can be run in either direction so you can just rotate the tires, but the real issue is how many heat cycles are on them. There are different schools of thought on how many heat cycles they can take. Some guys claim until they're corded, others say X number of cycles.

RA1's probably aren't ideal for Auto X but unless your trying for TTOD you should have fun!

Re:Should I Flip my Tires? 13 years, 9 months ago #7913

• LanceR
  • Drivers Ed
Run 'em till the cords show! That's what I did on my Miata and the lap times were the same.

Re:Should I Flip my Tires? 13 years, 9 months ago #7914