Username Password: Remember me

944 Engine for Endurance racing
(1 viewing) (1) Guest

TOPIC: 944 Engine for Endurance racing

944 Engine for Endurance racing 11 years, 9 months ago #13505

• karbuf
  • Comp School
Hi Members,
I'm brand new to road racing (number of years of asphalt roundy-round racing though). I want to run in the Chumpcar series next year and I'm seriously considering the 944 platform.

Endurance is a big deal (up to 24hr races)... What is the best way to prep the 2.5L for this type racing? ie. baffle in oil pan? what can be done within reason and rules to make it bullet proof?

What other challenges with the chassi should I look at? ie. aluminum vs steel control arms? (visa versa).. I've seen some chatter about these but dont have the experience to know the issue..

ANY words of wisdom would be greatly appreciated.. I have just started reading the discussions and tech articles on this forum too. Great source of info.

I live in Tampa, FL.

Thanks in advance..

tim......

Re: 944 Engine for Endurance racing 11 years, 8 months ago #13509

I take a shotgun approach to the oil issues with a trap door in the sump, late style oil baffle (Porsche OEM), big oil cooler, and accusump. Other guys don't go quite so far and do well but none of this stuff costs a lot if the engine is apart.

The steel control arms are preferred for durability, price, and replaceable ball joints. They are early offset (cars before 1987). 1985.5 & 86 cars came with Aluminum but can retrofit steel.

Change all the belts and run the balance shafts.

These cars are very durable and would be a good platform. Good luck.
The following user(s) said Thank You: karbuf

Re: 944 Engine for Endurance racing 11 years, 8 months ago #13510

Depending on how far you go into the motor, using an '83 cross drilled crank, or cross drilling a later crank can be helpful. In any case put new rod bearings in, and check that the clearances meet spec. Steve's got the rest pegged above. Good luck!