Social Media

Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me

New 944 in Utah - Not a front runner for a while..
(1 viewing) (1) Guest
  • Page:

TOPIC: New 944 in Utah - Not a front runner for a while..

New 944 in Utah - Not a front runner for a while.. 11 years, 8 months ago #13605

• joeblow
  • Seasoned Racer
  • Old Racer
I made a deal with Arron aka Bamf3000 who has been trying to sell for a while and am picking the car up this week. It is an 86' and red, of course (I hate red), with all options I dont want! Arron started it down the path but was not able to complete and is now working back East so needed out. Not much to it besides the carpet is out and the axles are off as is the front bumper and radiator. Nothing has been put in yet.

I am planning on a very mild car as I will be using it on the street for a while as well.

I have been racing for 25 years with a few breaks here and there. I have or have held SCCA, PCA, POC, NASA, HSR and FIA licences. I have raced everything from big V8 supercars to 1.5 ltr sedans. I have lots of Porsche time in both 911s and 944s. I have most recently been running BMWs in a PRO FIA Touring Series out of the country until I relocated back to the USA. The cost to run that car in the USA unsponsored was just too great and I got out a few years ago. I have been on bikes most recently but the Wife is not happy with that so I am slowly going back to cars and more specifically 944 SPEC.

I am an Airline Pilot that had to start over with a new airline and as such am on the bottom of the ladder again. So whatever I do will need to get me to/from the airport as well as to/on/back from the track. I plan to 'run what I brung' for a while and slowly move her to a dedicated car.

The plan is the following:

Go manual windows with plain 911 RS style door cards and even leather pull straps to unlock them inside! No power locks either.

Gut the mirrors to manual adjust.