Social Media

Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me

Lowering the Ride Height.. Advice?
(1 viewing) (1) Guest

TOPIC: Lowering the Ride Height.. Advice?

Lowering the Ride Height.. Advice? 11 years, 4 months ago #14887

• karbuf
  • Comp School
Question: What is good ride height for road racing the 944?

I'm building an '88 944 to race in the Chump road racing series. We are allowed to make some mods to suspension to lower our ride height.. I know how to index the rear torsion bars and can cut springs to lower front.... so I know how to do it, but I'm not sure how far to go.. I have tools for measuring caster/camber/toe and bump steer... But I would appreciate any insight from anyone who has actually done this before.

Thanks!
tim..........

Re: Lowering the Ride Height.. Advice? 11 years, 4 months ago #14894

• AgRacer
  • Administrator
I cant even begin to give you an answer as I have no experience setting these cars up. Those on here that can would like to know what springs/shocks/torsen bars your running because that can change what your optimum ride height can be. I don't know if sway bars have anything to do with it. I haven't gotten that far in learning about setups and adjustments on sprung race vehicles.
J. Stanley
NASA-SE Region 944 Spec Series Director
Yellow #60

Re: Lowering the Ride Height.. Advice? 11 years, 4 months ago #14899

• karbuf
  • Comp School
Thanks AgRacer.

Everything has to remain original stock in this class although we are allowed to make some "adjustments" (ie cutting springs).. I know that will affect the stiffness of the spring.. etc..

Springs are stock.. I have not cut them yet, so I dont have a rating on them yet, but it would be very helpful if someone can recommend a rating that I can shoot for, which would affect how much I cut..

My '88 has 25.5mm torsion bars, 26.8mm front sway bar, and 18mm rear swaybar. If someone can give some guidance/recommendations here, it would be appreciated