RPM + speed connections for datalogger
(1 viewing) (1) Guest
  • Page:

TOPIC: RPM + speed connections for datalogger

RPM + speed connections for datalogger 14 years, 1 month ago #6942

• Simon
  • Drivers Ed
Hi all,

I am a student automotive engineering working on my thesis about the suspension of the 944 (type2/late).
For this I need to use a datalogger system (AIM Evo4) to log suspension movement but also RPM and speed.

I was wondering if anybody could point me in a direction for how to measure those two?
On the Trackvision gallery (www.trackvision.net/gallery.php) there is a movie from Jon Ariano who uses an AIM logger which shows RPM and speed.

Does anybody have any experience with getting RPM and speed hooked-up to an AIM datalogger?

Can I use the gearbox/tacho signal or should I just use a wheelspeed signal from the ABS?

Hope you can help me.

Best regards,
Simon

Re:RPM + speed connections for datalogger 14 years, 1 month ago #7053

• Weston
  • Seasoned Racer
  • Destroyer of Chris
Simon wrote:
Hi all,

I am a student automotive engineering working on my thesis about the suspension of the 944 (type2/late).
For this I need to use a datalogger system (AIM Evo4) to log suspension movement but also RPM and speed.

I was wondering if anybody could point me in a direction for how to measure those two?
On the Trackvision gallery (www.trackvision.net/gallery.php) there is a movie from Jon Ariano who uses an AIM logger which shows RPM and speed.

Does anybody have any experience with getting RPM and speed hooked-up to an AIM datalogger?

Can I use the gearbox/tacho signal or should I just use a wheelspeed signal from the ABS?

Hope you can help me.

Best regards,
Simon

Can't speak to the AIM system specifically, but for RPM on my Traqmate, I just connected it to the ignition signal wire going from the DME to the ignition coil. It's Pin #1 on the DME wiring connector.